Ke Sistem Pengurusan Laman Utama

Anda boleh mengemaskini laman utama anda di sini


Kemaskini info


The Association of Southeast Asian Institutions of Higher Learning (ASAIHL) was established in 1956 as a non-governmental organisation at a meeting in Bangkok of the heads of eight state universities in Southeast Asia. Field Marshal Pibulsongkram, the then Thai Prime Minister, supported its foundation and approved the setting up of the Secretariat in Thailand. His government gave financial and material support which continued for several years until the Association had other sources of funds. Recently, in addition to physical facilities, the Thai government has been supporting the Association with an annual grant of US$5,000.

ASAIHL's purpose is to assist member institutions to strengthen themselves through mutual self-help and to achieve international distinction in teaching, research and public service. In so doing, the institutions contribute strength to their respective nations and to the entire region. Specifically, the Association exists to foster the development of the institutions themselves, the cultivation of a sense of regional identity and interdependence and to liaise with other regional and international organisations concerned with research and teaching.

It serves as a clearing-house of information, provides regular opportunities for the discussion of academic development and general university development; assists member institutions in the recruitment and placement of faculty and staff, exchanges of professors and students and in the development of co-operative arrangements on specific projects; provides advisory services of consultants; strengthens the relationship with regional and international bodies and keeps member institutions informed about developments; and recognises and acknowledges distinctive achievements among Southeast Asian institutions of higher education.

Founding Fathers:

  • Sir Nicholas Attygalle, University of Ceylon

  • Air Marshal Muni M. Vejyant Rangshrisht, Chulalongkorn University

  • Dr. Lindsay Ride, University of Hong Kong

  • Prof. Bahder Djohan, University of Indonesia

  • Sir Sydney Caine, University of Malaya

  • Dr. Vidal A. Tan, University of the Philippines

  • Dr. Htin Aung, University of Rangoon

  • Prof. Nguyen-Quang-Trinh, National University of Vietnam


As Malaysia moves towards its vision of a knowledge-economy and a high income nation, the emphasis has been on education as the bedrock of its future. In line with this, the country continues to innovate and improve its education strategies for both Malaysians and the international student community and firmly establish itself as an education hub, particularly for tertiary education.

The 21st century has demanded a paradigm shift in the way human resources are taught and trained in the required competencies in ICT, research and critical thinking and encouraged to develop a global mindset that understands the diversity of universal cultures and appreciates the reality and necessity of functioning interculturally in this modern era.

As an active member of the Association of Southeast Asian Institutions of Higher Learning (ASAIHL), Malaysia subscribes to the ASAIHL vision to assist member institutions to strengthen themselves through mutual self-help and to achieve international distinction in teaching, research and public service. Towards this end, the 2016 ASAIHL Conference, with the theme "Borderless Open Access Education" will be held at Universiti Putra Malaysia from 4th - 6th December 2016.

Click here to view the list of ASAIHL Board Members


The objectives of the ASAIHL Conference on "Borderless Open Access Education" are:

  • to support and promote the transfer and exchange of best practices and experience about the role of higher learning institutions in enhancing global competencies

  • to collect and apply research works to developing regional higher education

  • to find the best research to present in the Regional ASAIHL conference at Universiti Putra Malaysia.


YB Dato' Seri Idris Bin Jusoh


Ministry of Higher Education, Malaysia

Dr. Jose Manuel Ramos-Horta

1996 Nobel Peace Prize

Former President of Timor-Leste

Professor Tan Sri Dato' Dzulkifli Abdul Razak

President of the International Association of Universities (IAU)

Former ASAIHL President (2007-2008)

Professor Dr. Alexandre Ardichvili

Department of Organizational Leadership, Policy and Development

University of Minnesota

* The keynote speakers will deliver the key issues in relation to the conference theme


Copyright 2014 All Rights Reserved.